No pull harness

Discussion of useful training and pet care tools.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Kala

No pull harness

Post by Kala »

We've tried the Easy Walk Harness, for two days on Daisy. Nothing but trouble. She got out of it, on one side, so we tighten it up, next day, it was on her and she chewed it in two. Then we saw it chafed on under her arms, tore the skin.

Took that back, what else can we try that won't hurt her? I'm frustrated, and I know it's not her fault...it's ours. :oops: :x
Charlie: Is this really a good plan?
Vik: You came up with it.
Charlie: That's the problem, what do I know?
-Spooks Code 9
delladooo

Re: No pull harness

Post by delladooo »

A lot of people really like the Perfect Fit from doggames (an online shop). I have no personal experience but if I were to get a new harness this is definitely the first one I would try :)
Erica

Post by Erica »

The Perfect Fit doesn't lie across the shoulders like the EasyWalk does, and is padded in soft fleece that will not chafe the skin :) If you're in the USA, CleanRun is an online shop that carries it.

Another option could be the Freedom harness; it does lie more across the shoulders than the Perfect Fit but not as much as the EasyWalk, and the Freedom has velvet covering the belly strap to help prevent chafing. The Freedom is cheaper than the PF, but I much prefer the PF. Both will also be more escape-proof than the EW. Good luck!

In short, the EasyWalk is the least ergonomic and most likely to chafe of the three, and the Perfect Fit is the most ergonomic and least likely to chafe. The Freedom is in the middle.

Whatever you go with, I wouldn't leave it on her unsupervised if she chewed the EW off. It might have been that the EW was uncomfortable, or she might just be one of those dogs that will chew a harness left on her.
Delta, standard poodle, born 6/30/14
Kala

Post by Kala »