Newbie needing advice please for a stressed little dog

Share your favorite training tips, ideas and methods with other Positively members!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

StarSpotter*

Newbie needing advice please for a stressed little dog

Post by StarSpotter* »

I am a newbie here, and I could really use some advice!

I have a 10 year old Sheltie, we have had her since she was 6 months old and she has always been a happy little dog, though sometimes quite timid, but the death of our big old dog last year seems to have really affected her, and her behaviour has changed:

Now she only seems to be relaxed when my dad is at home. When he is out she sits in silence, on constant alert, ears up listening to every little noise, and you can see the worry etched on her face. She yawns a lot too. This happens even when I am in the house, I have tried to distract her with toys and treats and sometimes that works for a brief minute, but then she goes straight back to listening out for my dad to come home. She sometimes sits like this for hours. When he is home, she visably relaxes.

Another problem she has is at night. She is fine if the windows are all firmly closed, but in the warmer weather when the windows are open a bit she gets really anxious if she hears people walking down the street, especially if they are talking, or people getting out of cars. Again, if she hears one of these noises, she will sit in silence, on alert, ears up and looking very stressed - eventually afetr a long time she will fall asleep, but with her ears standing completely erect, and any little noise wakes her up and makes her jump out of skin. When the windows are closed and she can't hear any street noise, she will sleep soundly all night.