Clicker Trick Suggestions?

Share your favorite training tips, ideas and methods with other Positively members!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Dogwoodblossom

Clicker Trick Suggestions?

Post by Dogwoodblossom »

Ok, so I'm new to clicker training, and I've hit a bit of a wall. At the suggestion of a friend who knows way more about this than I do I started free shaping behavior with a ball. Clicked for looking, clicked for nosing, ect... Now I've got her batting the dog with her paws, and she can generalize between ball shaped toys and problem solve and figure out she has to try new things when I'm holding out for more.

The thing is, I've kind of run out of ideas. I want to teach her to retrieve, but she is not a dog who has ever carried anything in her mouth besides food. I don't think it would ever occur to her to pick up the ball in her mouth, so that's on hold for now.

Um, I guess I have a specific question and a more general one. Specific first. So with the retrieving, like I said, I don't think she'll ever pick up a ball on her own, but she does carry around rawhide sticks. She's not generally interested in actually chewing them longer than about thirty seconds, but if I give her one she'll carry it off places before she gets bored and drops it (never to touch it ever, ever again). So I thought that maybe the rawhide would be something to use to try to teach the 'hold this in your mouth' behavior, or start with it then replace it with a stick shaped sort of toy. But using a food item (even one she's not that interested in) strikes me as wrong. It strikes my friend as a bad idea too, but neither of us can think of a reason why. Are we just crazy? Is starting with the rawhide and then swapping in a definite non food item a good idea?