My Major Is Teething Badly And I Need Some Advice!

Share your favorite training tips, ideas and methods with other Positively members!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

MajorsMommy

My Major Is Teething Badly And I Need Some Advice!

Post by MajorsMommy »

Our New Puppy Major, Is Teething Very Badly, And I Could Use Some Advice Please, He Chews On EVERYTHING Including US!! It Gets To The Point That He Actually Tears Open Our Skin. He's 9 Weeks Old, Black/Silver German Shephard, I Tried The Clicker Method, I've Tried Telling Him No..Now Am On The Time Out Where If He Doesnt Listen To Us, He Gets Baby Gated In The Kitchen Area For 5 Minutes To Show Him That His Behaviour Has To Stop And Then He's Let Back Into The Room With Everyone, If He Repeats The Chewing On Us, Or The Furniture Etc. He Is Then Yet Again Put Back Into The Kitchen, This Seems To Work For Awhile, But Then When You Get Up To Walk, He Will Try and Bite At Your Legs, If Anyone Has Any Suggestions How I Can Help Him As I Know He Is Truly Hurting, I would Appreciate It, I do give him Ice, And He Has his teething Keys, And Toys etc...I Dont Want Him to have to much rawhide or anything, But if there is something else I Can give him, I would greatly appreciate any suggestions...Thank you all so very much, He will be starting obedience school after the first of the year so we are trying our best until then. God Bless...Tam! :?:
Live each day to it's fullest, Love All Creatures, Judge not, and Count each blessing no matter how big or small..In His Love, Tam
Cracker

Post by Cracker »

Ahh. Not only do you have a PUPPY but a GSD puppy! They are VERY oral. You have to puppy proof your house as much as possible! Remember that pups explore the world with their mouths, just like human babies.