Vehicle and dog reactive rescue dog.

Share your favorite training tips, ideas and methods with other Positively members!

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

Sue28

Vehicle and dog reactive rescue dog.

Post by Sue28 »

I have a very complex little girl who in her young life suffered a lot of trauma and loss and spent her first 12 weeks in a kennel. Pippa and I are getting professional help but I wondered if anyone else with a collie or collie Cross has been through similar problems and what have you done that has worked to solve the problems. Pippa is intelligent but has the attention span of a goldfish and when she goes reactive you might as well talk to the wall. We happy for any advice or games we can play :D
JudyN

Re: Vehicle and dog reactive rescue dog.

Post by JudyN »

Hi, and welcome :D

I've no experience of collies, but would it be possible for you to give some more details please?

- How old was she when you got her, and how old is she now? Is she spayed, and who else lives in the household (humans and animals)?
- What do you feed her? (Brand and variety)
- Could you give a full run-down of her daily routine? When she gets up, gets fed, walks - how long, how often, on or off lead, what you do. Also training, games, playing. What games do you play, and what does she love best?

Also, what have you tried with her so far, and for how long, and what has the professional suggested?

The best resource/guideline for reactive behaviour is behaviour adjustment training - this link might be helpful: https://www.training-your-dog-and-you.c ... ining.html
Jasper, lurcher, born December 2009
Sue28

Post by Sue28 »