Hounds?

Breed specific discussion of your favorite breed.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

ZaraD

Hounds?

Post by ZaraD »

Yesterday I met a lovely woman who came into my Salon and asked me a question about scent hounds , she said that she has recently retired and has waited all her life to have a dog as her job ( she told me she was a nurse) was none stop and did not have the time for a dog and has waited till she retired to have a dog so she has the time for one.

She said she has been doing her research and she said she has always had a soft spot for scent hounds and otterhounds in particular. She said the only problem she has with them is that most scent hounds are vocal not a problem for her but she said her neighbour won't be happy with a dog who barks all the time.

So she asked me if it's true that all scent hounds are yappy and bark or howl all the time?

I told her that I'm not entirely sure as I'm not an expert but I can find out for her and she said she was very greatful of I could find out for her, she's given me her number so I can tell her.

My understanding on scent hounds ( I have only ever met Basset, beagles and Griffen Vendée) is that they are vocal if left alone or is they hear or see something but the scent hounds I know are not yappy or constantly vocal yes they are quicker to howl or bark then most breeds but there no more vocal than GSD , I say this as my new neighbors have beagle's and I hardly ever hear them except for when there outside and they want Sampson and Lara to know there outside, or if someone comes to the door ect..., But in the house there pretty quiet.

I just wanted to ask for everyone's advice would you call all scent hounds very vocal ( always barking) ?

She is aware that scent hounds have to stay on lead as there not great with recall and she's fine with that and she's fine with there independent nature.
Last edited by ZaraD on Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Lotsaquestions

Re: Hounds?