Stripping my cairn terriers

Discussion of grooming tips and questions.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

JenJen

Stripping my cairn terriers

Post by JenJen »

I'm needing to strip my cairns and I've never done it before. I've always groomed my cocker but that was easy. Any tips on hand stripping? The best tools for a beginner? Videos that explain it better? Any info would be great. I've been reading a lot and watching some videos but still not grasping it. Think I might have a good idea tho. lol guess ill just have to get in there and try it. Hey I have 2 cairns so the first one will be a guano pig. Lol
Erica

Re: Stripping my cairn terriers

Post by Erica »

No personal experience, but here are some previous discussions you might find helpful. I'm sure people who know terriers/grooming more than I do will be along shortly!

Stripping vs Clipping
Stripping a Schnauzer (Schnauzers are different from other terriers, but the discussion there is relevant)
Stripping a Border Terrier

The Mars Coat King might be of interest to you. Here's a page with some before/after pictures. It's not the same as stripping but is apparently easier to learn/use.

(now I'm worried about what kind of robot ads are going to come up with all this "stripping..." haha!)
Delta, standard poodle, born 6/30/14
JenJen

Post by JenJen »

Thanks

Yeah I was surprised I hadn't ran into anything crazy when I was searching "stripping my dog" lol that could end badly lol
gwd

Post by gwd »

a mars coat king is a great tool for speeding up the job ......but really you can do a TON of the work with nothing more than a metal comb and your fingers.