i am a little confused!

Get to know other Positively members here.

Moderators: emmabeth, BoardHost

**liz**

i am a little confused!

Post by **liz** »

Hi all,

I dont want to start a big debate here but i have been using this site for 2 months or so and a couple of times i have come across a post that will say things like ' you dont have to be dominate over your dog'
The word dominate mean to be in charge, make rules and govern! why would people not want to get there dog to understand who is in charge!? i am very confused as i thought that this would be the best thing you could do for an animal that is in human society to keep them safe and happy!

I am not trying to cause offence to anyone nor am i trying to be disrespectful by writing this post!
KayaKoyuWalker

Re: i am a little confused!

Post by KayaKoyuWalker »

It's the difference between dominating by aggression or by guile.

You'll see many dogs who obey commands because they are in fear of the consequences of not doing so.

Positive training results in a dog who follows an owner's commands because it wants to.
"The more I see of man, the more I like dogs." - Mme. de Staël
***Melissa***

Post by ***Melissa*** »

**liz** wrote:' you dont have to be dominate over your dog'
This comes from the dominance theory, which is based on your dog seeing you as part of his pack - in other words thinking you are a dog too, and nog a human. (To my understanding anyway)

Here is a link to an article on Dominance Theory vs Positive Reinforcement: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=600

With positive reinforcement you focus on the positive side, set your dog up for success, reward behaviour you want (while allowing him to be "a dog") and ignore negative behaviour.